Tags

, , , , ,

Day 20 – Worked 5.5 hours
Total hours thus far: 122.25

The goals for today was to finish the Fair Use component, work on the assessment pieces for each of the sub-components and try to finish the face-to-face lesson plans.

To start off the day I did attend a candidate’s interview session and then the presentation. Unfortunately I would love to discuss so much about what he/she said, but for privacy reasons I must abstain. I was impressed with how the candidate inspired me to think about technology and process though. Perhaps at a later date I can go back and discuss this more when there is someone in the position.

While working on my Fair Use component I found Stanford University’s tutorial to be absolutely excellent: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/Copyright_and_Fair_Use_Overview/index.html It’s very dense, but there’s a HUGE amount of straightforward information available. My favorite part of the tutorial is the examples. They really showcase the grey area of fair use and would be helpful for a librarian who is looking for an example when teaching. The Stanford website helped me to finish my Fair Use component. Here is the text:

Fair use is a copyright principle that allows users of information to be able to use intellectual works while still enabling the creator of the intellectual work to be able to own and profit from their work.

If you are using an intellectual work for any of these reasons:
criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship and research
then you are more than likely falling under the fair use principle of copyright.

What counts as “fair use” of something depends on these four main factors:

The Purpose and Character of Use: How have you used the work? Have you transformed the original work by adding new expression or meaning?

The Nature of the Copyrighted Work: Is the work factual in nature or creative? Is it unpublished or published? Different factors about the original work will have an effect on fair use.

The Amount and Substantiality of the Portion Used: How much of the original work are you quoting, summarizing or using? (Quoting three lines of a six line poem is different than quoting three line from a five minute song). And, of the portion that you are using – how much of the “substantial” idea of the work are you using?

The Effect of the Use on the Original Work in the Market: Does the way you use the work deprive the copyright owner of income? Or does it undermine a new or potential market for the original work?

For more information on fair use check out Stanford University’s guide to Fair Use at http://fairuse.stanford.edu/Copyright_and_Fair_Use_Overview/chapter9/index.html

I decided to focus on the four main criteria because this gives students and instructors the ability to apply the four criteria to a situation to decide if they are under the fair use principle or not. I could have illustrated fair use  by examples, but I felt like that would warrant a large amount of explanation as to why the user was abiding by fair use or not. I think that examples would be more productive in a face-to-face setting rather than a very simple, to the point tutorial. I think that large amount of information might be overwhelming for both the text and video component of the tutorial.

I am also working on drafting the “assessment” pieces for each of the components I have created thus far (Creative Commons, Intellectual Property, Copyright and Fair Use). In the very beginning of the internship, I was going to approach creating the instruction components from the outward/in approach: define the learning objectives or goals and the assessment first and then draft the content after that. In this case for much of this I had to work a bit backwards, but I did have an idea of learner goals before I started. It was just very important for me to draft the text in order to create a script and then the sound files so Arlando could start working on the videos. It would have taken much longer if I drafted all the content last as he would have had nothing to work with. For the other two modules (Citations and Plagiarism) I would like to stick to my original plan and work on the learner objectives and assessment pieces first.

And when I refer to “assessment” here I am thinking of supplemental and challenging material that will support the main content of the tutorial components. The students would be self-motivated to do each of the assessment pieces which would be found in each of the tutorial sub-components. This way, it will not seem like a twenty question quiz (even though the student/user will have worked through about twenty different questions or activities).

I found these three resources to be invaluable in my approach to designing  the assessment pieces (and finishing the lesson plans):

http://www.libraryinstruction.com/lessons.html

https://wiki.lib.umn.edu/AP/InformationLiteracyToolkit

https://sites.google.com/site/teachinfolit/

The assessment pieces were actually the most fun to create! I was able to create some that would compliment and reinforce the material in tutorial and some that would supplement and reinforce. I also found that the sub-module, “How Do I Know if I Can Use This…?” actually worked on its own as an assessment piece after I worked on drafting it today. I wanted the assessment to exist in different formats and my favorite is the “drag and drop” column format, but I unfortunately found out from Sarah today that something like that requires knowledge of Flash which is a different skill set. She wants Arlando to focus on video instead. But, she did recommend I think about including that as some part of my face-to-face lesson plans which is a great idea!

I’m pretty excited because I finally finished all of the “Considering Use and Re-Use of Information” component of my Responsible and Ethical Use of Information module. All that’s left is the Citations and Plagiarism sections! Here is the completed sub-module: B. Considering Creation Use Reuse of Information Sub-Module.

