Tags

, , , ,

Day 9 – Worked 5 hours
Total hours thus far: 56.25

There are two majors items of excitement for today. One is the “Understanding Creative Commons” webinar that I attended and the other is the fact that I have a solid outline of the “Responsible and Ethical Use of Information” module.

The Creative Commons webinar I attend was extremely worthwhile and provided a succinct overview of the major features of creative commons licenses. Hosted by google, the presenter of the webinar is Ester Wojcicki who is the vice chair of the Creative Commons board of directors. Check out the webinar archives here: https://sites.google.com/site/gwebsearcheducation/webinars

Here are the highlights of the webinar:

They had a really nifty image which described what copyright protects (or prohibits – however you like to look at it). There were five images relating to the five areas: copy/distribute, publically perform, publicly display, build upon, digitally distribute. That image would be really great for the tutorial I am creating and I know the webinar has a Creative Commmons Share Alike License so perhaps I can get some good use out of the image.

I thought she glossed over “Fair Use” a bit too quickly for the general user to understand.

Wojcicki explained that Creative Commons pre-authorizes sharing and it does not give up ownership. I think this an important distinction for creators and users to understand.

I did not know this, but for a creative commons license you do not have to license the whole work under the same license. You might just license a few poems in a collection or a few songs on an album.

There are 52 countries which recognize Creative Commons licenses. There are also 500 million works with Creative Commons licenses.

Wojcicki also teaches journalism to middle and high school students. She brought up an interesting pedagogical decision when teaching her students about copyright and Creative Commons licenses. Instead of telling students this is what you cannot use and why, she explained to them about what Creative Commons does for sharing intellectual works and showed students how to find works to use. They when the students create their projects they use search engines (like google’s advanced search option or Flickr) to find works under Creative Commons licenses. Instead of limiting students, she decides to focus on opening up the possibilities first. I thought this was an effective way to teach middle and high school students.

I also expanded my outline and I feel confident in the approach I have taken to address copyright, citing, plagiarism, etc. I have to go over everything with Sarah first before I start devling into the specifics. After that I will create a visual representation of my outline to include in the blog. Right now it’s just a bunch of scribbles on a piece of paper. Check back for my next posting for the outline!

